07 Speaking test part 2

ielts-help.com – Ian Carter interviews a Burmese doctor preparing for the IELTS test in 2003. Part 2 of 2.
Video Rating: 5 / 5

ielts-help.com – Ian Carter interviews a Burmese doctor preparing for the IELTS test in 2003. Part 1 of 2.
Video Rating: 5 / 5

This entry was posted in IELTS and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 07 Speaking test part 2

  1. IanCarterTheCaller says:

    @amnah87
    I can’t tell you in this short box where her mistakes lie. But there’s another interview discussed on my website – I think it will help you to understand.

  2. amnah87 says:

    Dear Sir,
    I am practising for the ILETS exam coming on June. can you pls tell me where this lady in this vedio did the mistakes? and could you pls give me some tips on how to answer these type of questions?

  3. IanCarterTheCaller says:

    The cue card will give you some prompts to guide your thinking, but if you get stuck, try the six so-called “WH” words – who, what, where, when, why and how. See if they spark your thinking off.

    If I get a break some time, I’ll see if I can find some time to make a video that might help. In the meantime, just try recording your own voice and listening back to it. Ask friends to “rate” your for comprehensibility and relaxed speech.

    And – good luck once again!

  4. IanCarterTheCaller says:

    Hello LevrekNet. Thanks for your comment. I hope you do well in the IELTS test.

    The lady doctor didn’t perform very well in this video, so I would probably have given her a Band 6 or 6.5 – but with practice she managed to improve and eventually got at least a 7 in Speaking.

    When it comes to “speaking freely on a random specific topic”, the best advice I can give you is to relax and pretend you’re talking with friends.

    [continued below]

  5. LevrekNet says:

    Hi Sir,
    I’m seriously planning to take the IELTS test in the U.S., and a bit worrying about its speaking part, but well actually I can speak quite well in daily life with friends, but this kind of free speech makes me a bit nervous. Could you make a video about how to speak freely on a random specific topic. Which kind of thinking strategies should we consider. Also, can I learn this woman’s speaking score?
    Thanks.

  6. IanCarterTheCaller says:

    @eysee29 It wasn’t an official interview, but I would rate her performance as around Band 6, maybe 6.5.

  7. eysee29 says:

    in that interview, what score did she get?

Leave a Reply

